Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

BIG PROBLEM after replacing spark plugs

Old 01-02-2012, 04:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy BIG PROBLEM after replacing spark plugs

Hey everyone I'm new to yotateck and really glad I found it at this point! I have a 1999 Tacoma SR5 V6 3.4l 4WD and I just replaced all spark plugs this morning coming to find out that I installed the wrong one's. I bought the single end point needle type spark plugs when really I needed the dual needle things on the end I pulled out the old one's and they were dual's but I never noticed I had to have them. I installed everything right and put everything back together in the same spot just as it was when I drove the truck earlier this morning to go pick up the plugs. I started it and it wouldn't fire up the engine sounds like it's starting then it just shuts down. I made sure everything was right many times I have all spark plug wires in the right spot it just won't fire up the engine. I even put the old one's back in and still no start. Idk what to do =( I'm stranded. If I put the wrong spark plugs in first and started the truck would it of fried anything or messed anything up? should I just go buy the right dual needle plugs and install them and see what happens? or did I really mess sumthing up?? I'm really worried that I fried something. I really hope someone can help it would be much appreciated! Thanks in advance, Michael.
Old 01-02-2012, 04:45 PM
Contributing Member

Received 463 Likes on 309 Posts
Deep breath!
You've plugged everything back in that you had to unplug to get to the plugs?
Old 01-02-2012, 04:46 PM

spark plug question

though toyota strongly encourages the dual tip plugs, putting in another set of plugs would not burn anything up. sounds like u have another issue.
Old 01-02-2012, 04:48 PM

Yes everything is plugged back in to the right placed I'm sure
Old 01-02-2012, 04:50 PM