Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Bed body work options

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2012, 05:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bed body work options

Hello guys, I'm a newbie here. I just got into an accident earlier today and I was wondering if you guys could possible give me some advice on the body work repair of my Tacoma bed. I got hit from behind and took out the passenger side corner light, tailgate and bumper. I need to go find estimates tomorrow, but what advice would you guys give me for a repair like this? Can the repair shop fix this dent by replacing a portion of the corner bed and tailgate or will I need a new tailgate and bed? Check out the photos.
Old 10-23-2012, 06:11 PM

Received 94 Likes on 66 Posts
Hopefully the other guy's insurance is paying, so I'll give you the generous estimate: replace rear bumper and black bumper cover, replace and repaint rear tailgate, remove/ replace right tail light, stud weld the dent, pull out as much as possible with slide hammer, light coat of body filler and paint. When my '88 4Runner was hit in 1992 and damaged in the tailgate only the repair, with a perfect paint match was over $1200, paid for by insurance. If you are handy I could see this being profitable. I bet the estimate is at least a couple of thousand $$. You could do the body work yourself and get the whole truck painted and still get ahead. If a body shop is doing the work it will be cheaper for them to paint and replace the tailgate than to repair it. They will do as I described above for the dent and not cut/weld a new section on.
Old 10-23-2012, 06:12 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
i'm not a body man by any means.
i think they will use the welded pins and slide hammer on that damage.
a good body shop should use very little bondo to finish it off.
Old 10-24-2012, 08:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts