Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Bah!! Can't figure out my diffs!

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2007, 10:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bah!! Can't figure out my diffs!

I'm been searching around and can't figure out what type of 4wd system I have on my 96 4wd ltd. I just picked this thing up and I'm a complete noob to the 4x4 scene. I looked through here, but couldn't find what i'm looking for.
http://home.4x4wire.com/erik/diffs/

Everything is OE on the truck. I'm pretty sure I don't have any lockers. Is it a LSD on the rear? What about the center and front diffs?

It would be hard for me to believe that there are open diffs on all 3. I was under the impression that on 96 4runners you had to push the transfer case lever to go from 2wd hi to 4wd hi, but mine has a button for 4wd hi.

Please help. I just need to know what I gots or in what mode I have what.
Old 04-05-2007, 04:25 AM

Look to the left of the steering wheel on the dash board and to the right of the dimmer nob. There should be a RR diff lock button there, if there isn't...then you have no locker. The center and front diff are more than likely open as the center locking diff doesn't come until the newer years and I've never heard of a front diff being locked from factory. I'm not sure about the rear...it is possible its a limited slip but then again it could be open. Check the manual or better yet...go get it dirty and find out.
Old 04-05-2007, 06:32 AM
Contributing Member

How about some pics of your transfer case lever and some pics of your dash just to the left of the steering coloumn?
Old 04-05-2007, 01:10 PM

Well I was pretty sure I didn't have any lockers to begin with.

Is it a complete open diff in the back or a LSD?

Old 04-05-2007, 01:12 PM

open diffs...post your axle code, its on the drivers side door jamb
Old 04-05-2007, 01:26 PM
Contributing Member

I'm fairly certain you have open axles.

Only L4 and H for the x-case????