Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Auto or manual transmission?

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2009, 03:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wink Auto or manual transmission?

Hi. This is my first attempt at posting a thread. I have wanted to buy a 4Runner since a friend of mine had one in 1987. Finally I am actively looking for one which will mainly be used for hunting and fishing (approximately 10,000 km per year) although I won't be doing any serious off-road driving like I see in some of the posted pictures. I would like to get a 1996 to 2002 4Runner. I prefer to get a 5 speed standard transmission, but there is only one available per 20 automatics. I would like to get some feedback to help me decide which route to go. For example, I will likely look at a 1999 5 speed this week from small used car dealer (Nova Scotia). He bought the vehicle from a large Toyota Dealership after someone had traded it in on a new vehicle. Apparently he put in a new clutch and slave cylinder, and says there are stickers on the vehicle that indicates the vehicle was undercoated several times, but has no maintenance records. Questions: Are 5 speed more fun to drive? As reliable as automatic? Easier on fuel? Thanks for any help you can provide.
Old 10-12-2009, 03:52 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hi rabbit3: I just purchased my first 4Runner almost 1 month ago -- a '97 5 Speed, and I drove 14 hours to get it (great shape, low mileage, upgrades, etc.)

I tried to find some locally to testdrive before making the long drive because I, too, was not sure if I should go auto vs. manual. The only local vehicles were automatic...but, definitely glad I got to drive them because it gave me a good perspective. The first time I drove the 5 speed, I knew I made the right choice.