Adding the aftermarket Trans cooler

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2010, 11:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
where do u get tranny temp guages? and where do u hook them up too im a noob
Old 03-28-2010, 04:55 AM
Maj

IMHO the cooler should be butted up against the A/C condenser and slightly off-center to the right to line up with the center of the radiator fan. If there is a large gap between the tranny cooler and the condenser the cooler won't reap any benefit of radiator fan airflow. Off-roading usually involves slow speeds which may not generate much airflow thus making airflow generated by the fan very important for cooling. Just my $0.02.
Old 03-28-2010, 04:59 AM
Contributing Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
I like these Isspro gauges.

http://www.egauges.com/vdo_mult3.asp...=EVA_R&Units=E

My in line sensor location is before the cooler, spliced into the rubber hose with parts from Ace hardware. Make sure the sensor doesn't block the flow.

Another great way to go is a Scangauge II. That will give you many gauges at once and read using the factory sensors for the ECU. It connects up to the OBDII port. http://www.scangauge.com/products/

Last edited by mt_goat; 03-28-2010 at 05:03 AM.
Old 03-28-2010, 06:44 AM
Contributing Member

Originally Posted by Maj
IMHO the cooler should be butted up against the A/C condenser and slightly off-center to the right to line up with the center of the radiator fan. If there is a large gap between the tranny cooler and the condenser the cooler won't reap any benefit of radiator fan airflow. Off-roading usually involves slow speeds which may not generate much airflow thus making airflow generated by the fan very important for cooling. Just my $0.02.
Yeah you have a good point, the closer to a fan the better. 2 different threads of been merged here, one dealing with bypassing the factory rad ATF cooler and one not...or I can't remember now. If he still has the factory ATF cooler and this is just added to it, he should be good.