Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

97 4runner bucking on hills

Old 05-22-2009, 02:21 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
97 4runner bucking on hills

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to the site but I've had my 4runner for 8 years and 2 runners before that. My problem is lately my 97 4x4 3.4L AT 4runner has been bucking when I go up moderate grades and it also runs really rough only for the first 5-10 seconds after starting up. It sounds/feels like it's really loaded up or like it's missing.

Neither of these problems (the bucking or the rough idling after starting) is consistent. I can go up the same hill and 50% of the time the truck runs fine, 50% of the time it bucks - whether I'm really on the gas or just cruising. As far as the rough starting, it's about the same 50/50. It does seem that the issues are connected because when it starts bad, it almost always bucks later and when it starts good, I can't get it to buck.

About 3 weeks ago the CEL went on. I was glad because now I thought I would at least find out what's wrong and then be able to fix it. So I brought it in and they said it threw a P0303 code 2 times (cylinder #3 misfire detected). They checked the fuel pressure and compression - both good. They said the coil boots were the problem and replaced them. No CEL or codes since then, but the previous problems haven't gone away. Now I'm not sure if the #3 misfire and the coil boots were related to the other issues or not.

I've tried to bring it in again to the shop 2 separate times and both times the truck ran great for them. They told me to keep driving it until the problems start happening all the time and then they can fix it. I hate that and I want to at least try to figure it out before it grenades or leaves me stranded on the side of the road.

Here's what I've done so far:
-Cleaned MAF and throttle body
-Replaced battery
-Changed fuel filter
-Changed plugs and wires (all OEM)
-Changed coil boots