Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

96 4Runner VS. 99 Explorer

Old 02-11-2003, 06:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 96 4Runner VS. 99 Explorer

What is up fellas? I have about $9,500 (10K w/ tax) to spend for an automobile. I was in a bad car accident with a nissan maxima and now i'm scared to drive cars again, so SUV's are what i'm checking out. I really like the 4Runner's reliability record, and the price and safety of the Explorers. For the price above, i can get around a 1996 4Runner, or a 99 Explorer here on Long Island, New York.

I was curious what you guys think about those two in comparison, most specifically of the designated years i previously listed? As far as reliability, safety, long term durability. Being a college student I do not have thousands of dollars for repairs, nor to keep replacing vehicles. Safety is also an issue because god forbid something happens, reliability means poop, and safety is everything.

All opinions and advice or links to other sites etc. are appreciated in advance...thanks ya'll
Old 02-11-2003, 07:00 AM

All else being equal, the 4Runner will last significantly longer. The explorer will probably have slightly lower repair costs, but it will need repairs much more frequently than the 4Runner. The problem with buying used is that you have no idea how the rig was cared for by the previous owner(s). You could end up constantly be putting money into repairs because the rig was abused by the previous owner, regardless of which one you buy.

Assuming you don't have a preference between the two (features, ride quality, looks, etc.), I would buy a 4Runner with 75k miles before I bought an explorer with 25k miles. In the long run, once you start talking about higher mileages, the 4Runner will be a better investment. You'll also get more for the 4Runner if/when you decide to sell.
Old 02-11-2003, 07:06 AM