Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

4th gen front diff fluid change help

Old 04-12-2004, 05:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4th gen front diff fluid change help

Sorry if this has already been answered (I did search but couldn't find the procedure). I'm no mechanic but can usually handle most maintenance chores but the front diff has me stumped. I haven't removed the belly pan but it looks to me like there isn't a drain plug under there. I did see a side plug when I took the left front wheel off that isn't a bolt but rather an allen head plug. It looks like the fill area. Is there a separate drain plug or does it need to be sucked out this fill area or am I way off base. Also, while I'm on the topic, is Amsoil the preferred choice for synthetic gear lube and if so, what is the difference between their formula 2000 and the regular synthetic lube? One other question - is it wise to keep lubbing the front propeller shaft if I don't use 4WD (no off road use, no water wading). It doesn't turn unless 4WD is engaged so I'm not sure how it would "use" grease and I don't want to overfill and blow some seal out. I've been doing all the zerks on all the shafts each time I do the oil (every 3K) but am thinking maybe I'm overdoing it. TIA for any help.
Old 04-12-2004, 10:08 PM
Contributing Member

SOrry can't answer your question, but here's a bump.

I will get the factory manual soon and hopefully have more answers, as I need to do this soon. I will just use good old Mobil1 Synthetic gear lube. I will also need to lube the driveline as I doubt the dealer has ever done it. I prefer Mobil 1 as I'm more familiar with the brand. Probably just my ignorance, because a lot of people on the board is into Amsoil products. I think both are probably far superior to what the dealer will put in anyhow.
Old 04-12-2004, 11:11 PM
Banned