Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

3rd Gen 4Runner or Tacoma for College Kid

Old 12-05-2012, 01:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3rd Gen 4Runner or Tacoma for College Kid

Hey there guys. I have been a member of Yotatech for a while but never really got into posting a whole lot until recently. I had some questions to ask. I have researched these forums and found lots of information. However, some of my questions have not quite been answered. I was curious if all your guys could help me out.
I am a college student over in Spokane, WA and am looking at purchasing a vehicle for going up to the mountains for skiing as well as drive back home for the holidays. Now, my parents are talking about purchasing a vehicle for me that is safe and reliable. I have managed to steer them towards Toyota vehicles since I have previous experience with their reliability. There are pro's and con's for each such as 4Runner are cheaper in my area but are hard to find 5-speeds. The Tacoma's are more expensive but are much more easy to find in 5-speeds and the 3RZ engine. I personally would rather have the 4-cylinder because I have no need for the extra power and I like better fuel economy. My parents are paying for the majority of the vehicle and all the maintenance (Except for my normal level of modifications), but I don't want to purchase a vehicle that will cost more money if I can avoid it. What sounds like the best course of action for me? I have always wanted a 4Runner but I don't like that the majority of them come with automatics. I have a few friends who have had problems with the radiator corroding and ruining the engine and transmission. How much of this is based off of their ignorance for maintenance? Or is it a common occurrence?
Thanks in advance for all of your help!
Old 12-05-2012, 01:25 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post