Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

2" suspension lift

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2004, 02:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2" suspension lift

I'm new to the whole offroad world. I have a '90 4Runner that has never seen anything other than pavement because I was married and she wouldn't let me take it off-road (sad, I know). I'm divorced now so it's time to start playing with my 4Runner.

I want to start with mild lifting at first and go from there. I figure the cheapest and most effective way to start this would be a 2" suspension lift with a 2" body lift. Body lifts are abundant and there is no problem find that. I am however having trouble find a 2" suspension lift. I'm going to assume that this would be a simple spacer type lift, but where can I find one?

Also, what else needs to be done? I have read on here something about track bar lower.....where can I find that also.

My rear springs a sagging (no big surprise....it's a 4Runner). I've found several options here, but open to any input that you can give me.

-Dan

Don't take the comment about "cheapest" the wrong way. You guys probably off-road way more than I ever will. I just want a starting point for now and go from there if the off-road bug bites me.
Old 02-07-2004, 02:33 AM
Contributing Member

Your cheapest option is to put spacers (or airbags) in the back and crank the torsion bars in the front.

If you want to spend a little more replace the back springs with Downey coils and if you're adding weight in the front (bumper/winch) get the Sway Away torsion bars.
Also keep in mind your CV angles with the lift. You may want to add manual hubs.
Look at http://robinhood4x4.com/suspension1.htm
All Pro Offroad makes a spacer.
Check out this review

I'm not sure what you mean by track bar lower. Panhard bar perhaps?