Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

2.7l 3rzfe blow by

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2011, 04:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2.7l 3rzfe blow by

I have been turning wrenches for 30 years. I have worked on alot of different stuff in my years. My daughter has a 98 4 runner 2.7 L engine with 160K. All is great and runs well. Uses 1/2 quart every oil change 3.000 miles since new. The other day I took off the oil fill while is running and got a lot of blow by. I dont know how long its ben like this because it does not leak a drop and never opened the oil fill while running before. I belived the motor was going south on me. My buddy thats a toyota mechanic for years also said not to worry all 2.7L have some blow by at the fill. He said it was not bad blow by. Ok so thats my ?. This is the only 2.7L I have laid hands on. What your opinion.
Old 08-02-2011, 04:29 PM

Received 69 Likes on 48 Posts
I don't know the 2.7's at all but check to make sure the pcv valve is working properly, if that's stuck shut it will create more crank case pressure then normal. That's the first place I would look on any motor.
Old 08-02-2011, 04:54 PM

Thanks, Did that. Compression 175 to 185 on all cylinders, scanner shows all is well. Like I said I have done this for years, just never fooled with this engine. Will do a leak test when I get a new guage for my tester. Dropped the darn thing today while hooking it up.
I am hoping my friend is right just the nature of the engine. It runs so darn well and engine is really clean. No oil seepage at all.
Old 08-02-2011, 05:18 PM

Received 120 Likes on 59 Posts
Have you checked the valves lately?
They need to be adjusted every 60K miles.
If they haven't been adjusted, they could be too tight..

Just my 2 cents.

Old 08-02-2011, 05:26 PM

No I dont think I have ever checked the valves. Thanks
Old 08-03-2011, 11:14 AM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post