86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

ToyoToler's 1986 Pickup Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2015, 09:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ToyoToler's 1986 Pickup Build Thread

Hello all,
I've been a lurker on Yotatech for around the past 6 months. I found the site when I became interested in these older Toyota's and began learning everything I could about them.
Before I get to the build details, bear with me while I supply some background information.
I am currently a student and my passion to learn transcends most other desires. I had never done any major automotive work prior to this, but I have always loved cars and anything mechanical since a very young age, and I am decently mechanically inclined. What attracted me to Toyota 4x4's is their quality, practicality, and above all their reliability. I plan on going through medical school, and have been saving to buy a vehicle for quite some time. A major concern of mine is having a car that I am confident will last me for the next 10-12 years. (the amount of time until I will have a steady job...) With the money I had (around 8k) I realized that I could get an older Yota and do just about everything to it for the same price as a mediocre used car. So a Toyota it was! I committed and bought an 86 Pickup, 22r and 5sp, mid October that I planned on restoring. It needed basically a full restoration, including an engine rebuild, paint, and body work. I began the restoration in mid November, puling the engine to begin the rebuild. Since then the vast resource of knowledge and advice that is Yotatech has proved invaluable to me. I've been using the forum for no small amount of time, and yet have no posts simply for the fact that I've found an answer to every question I've had just by searching!