86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

RAD4Runner's 1986 4Runner dlx Build-up

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2012, 12:37 AM
Super Moderator
Staff

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
I have run into the starter problems you have mentioned. Wish I had your electrical knowledge. I know just enough to be dangerous, I just replaced a starter as I was having to smack it. I am suspecting it just needs the contacts replaced.
Old 07-22-2012, 11:41 PM

Received 663 Likes on 455 Posts
Originally Posted by Terrys87
I have run into the starter problems you have mentioned. Wish I had your electrical knowledge. I know just enough to be dangerous, I just replaced a starter as I was having to smack it. I am suspecting it just needs the contacts replaced.
Thanks, Terry87.
Yes, it's possible that the contacts are bad. I have no experience with that, yet. Did you trade in your old starter? Would be interesting to see the contacts.

I don't want to remove my starter, yet, because:
  • I can hear starter relay and feel it click but no crank.
  • On the other hand, when I connect my starter solenoid control terminal directly to battery, it cranks.
So possible that starter relay contacts are bad. I'm shopping for replacement.
NO rush because I already have a bypass setup (to connect my starter solenoid control terminal directly to battery). Will post this as soon as I get a chance.
Old 07-25-2012, 08:19 AM

Received 184 Likes on 132 Posts
Hmm this is some very interesting info on the starter relay. I "freshened up" my starter contacts by sanding them down to remove the pitting and the groove worn by the plunger, and it eliminated like 99% of my start issues. But there is still that 1% of the time where I just get a click. Makes me wonder if the starter relay contacts or ignition contacts are worn as you noted. I'm subscribed, I wanna see how yours works out, you've got some good electrical skills.
Old 07-25-2012, 02:31 PM