86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

Jkelley429's 89 Yota Build (slow)

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2012, 05:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Jkelley429's 89 Yota Build (slow)

Well, i've been stalling on creating this for too long. I bought the truck (188,000 miles)back in April of last year when i turned 16. A good tune up, a MAF, TPS, and ECU later it ran good. Progress was slow over the first summer. I did get some brand new (1000 miles) 265/70/17 BFGoodrich Rugged Trails and some 17'' Mondera Davanti wheels for $300 from a guy who wrecked his chevy and had to sell them. My dad is good friends with the local exhaust guy, so i got my Flowmaster 40 done fairly cheap. I then installed a pioneer radio, Kicker door speakers, and a 10'' Kicker Comp sub. From the time i got the truck i could tell the clutch was gonna need replacing, and sure enough at 191,000 miles it was slipping beyond repair. Bought a factory Aisin clutch kit for $68 and installed it. Iv'e always had a problem with my transmission(1st jumps out, no 3rd, 4th grinds) and i finally ordered a used w56 from a fellow yotatecher yesterday. I guess what motivated me to finally start this was the fact that i stayed up til midnight on sunday installing a 3'' body lift. Well, so far iv'e only goth the cab lifted, but i guess thats over half of it. I have a rod knocking in my engine and i know that these engines are really tough, but im currently looking for parts to build my 22rte this summer. Iv'e rebuilt a 22re before and i have a good bit of automotive knowledge so im sure i can pull it off with some help from the fellow yotatechers. This is probably gonna be a rather slow build as i am currently training with a guy to build websites. When i start doing that ill definitely have money on hand to customize the yota, but until then its gonna have to wait. Before you ask, my phone is acting up right now so no pics yet, but ill try to upload some this evening. Any comments, ad