86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

Auto Swap

Old 07-15-2011, 04:45 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Auto Swap

I have been doing a lot of talk and research and finally taking the plunge. I found a 87 4runner parts truck with the A340H. I got all the wiring computers, and the crossmember ,the A340h and a new torque converter, but there was no flywheel. So they guy have me one out of his house. Anyways anyone attempting this swap i say buy the whole truck do not take off what you think you need. There is always more and i have not even got to the wiring yet.
My Truck

Ok i am a full time student and part time worker so my time to work on this swap is very small. So this might be a long build

Got the 5speed out. Have done it 100 times so was very easy.

Went to bolt in the flywheel only to see that the holes are no where close to lining up. Not sure if i was given the wrong flywheel or if there is some kinda adapter i need. Anyways i am going to Toyota today to see what i can find out and i am sure they will want to charge me a arm and a leg so posted a wanted add here for the Flywheel, Flywheel to converter bolts, and Flywheel to crank bolts. If anyone has these please pm me asap since i really cant move on from here.https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f12/.../#post51754043

Old 07-15-2011, 05:15 AM
RBX

Received 33 Likes on 22 Posts
A340 has a flexplate with ring gear not a flywheel. You also need two flanges that go on either side of the flexplate, IIRC. Flexplate bolt patterns are different between 4cyl and v6.
Old 07-15-2011, 11:01 AM

I've seen plenty of auto to manual swaps, but never a manual to auto. I'm intrigued! Why do you want the auto over the 5-speed?
Old 07-15-2011, 03:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Flex Plate