86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

22R-E rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2016, 08:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22R-E rebuild

1991 pickup, 22R-E

Check out these pics, i am new to yotatech.com and rebuilding an engine, i bought this for a rebuild project, first things first is this a 22R-E the sticker on the valve cover is gone, I'm wanting anyone's input from face value what does the condition look like and is there anything missing, also where do i start, i read a lot of things that say take off the cover and oil pan lake a look at the cam/crank shaft, i didn't do much while i was picking it up, i was stoked of finally finding an engine that was cheap and close to home, i got it home and reality set in so when i turned the 19mm bolt i can hear what sounds like compression but i have not hooked up a hose to the spark area, i noticed the valve cover was cracked and it had a whole lot of rtv at most of the mating surfaces and a visible gasket, the guy i bought it from told me he replaced a front seal where oil was leaking and while he did that he installed an upgraded timing kit, I'm guessing that is the metal backed timing guides, the tip of the oil stick is black and dry, any suggestions
​​​​​​​
Attached Thumbnails 22R-E rebuild-image.jpeg   22R-E rebuild-image-6.jpeg   22R-E rebuild-image-5.jpeg   22R-E rebuild-image-4.jpeg   22R-E rebuild-image-3.jpeg  

Old 11-25-2016, 08:36 PM

Received 603 Likes on 441 Posts
It is indeed a 22re.

Can't tell a thing looking at the outside.

It is a good sign that you can turn it over with a rachet.

You can tell a bit about how tough the engines life has been by examination of the cylinder bores and the condition of the main and con rod bearing shells, but it takes precision measurements with inside and outside micrometers to tell the real story.