Cycling Mountain biking, road biking, any type of pedal powered biking

MTB body armor?

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2009, 09:18 AM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
MTB body armor?

I'm a noob MTBer and was wondering if anything above the usual helmet, glasses and gloves is recommended? I'll be riding in some mud, roots, rocks and hilly areas, and want to prepare for "involuntary dismounts".

I have gear from inline speedskating days but most of it (except elbow armor) is too bulky for bike use. I'd really like something to protect kneecaps having crashed my former dirtbike enough times to understand eyewatering pain.

Thoughts?
Old 08-09-2009, 09:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
shin guard/knee guards are your friend ask me how I know Get a camel back that you can strap stuff on to so you can strap on your armor to your back for the hill climb and then put it on before you go down. Or just wear it the whole time if it doesn't bother you. These are what I wear, I do mostly all mountain/DH trails but XC as well:

You should be able to find 'em for around $60...

But if you're just XC riding mostly, just go with the helmet and gloves route, that's all you'll need.
Old 08-09-2009, 09:37 AM
Co-Founder/Administrator
Staff

Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Originally Posted by 89silverpu
But if you're just XC riding mostly, just go with the helmet and gloves route, that's all you'll need.
Is that basically just exploring trails whether single track in the woods or fire roads?
Pretty much what I will be doing.

Picked up a new pair of fingerless gloves a few weeks back.
Fox Racing, Inc.
Reflex Gel Short Finger Gloves

When I use to winter ride my old mountain bike at Alki beach with the kids many years ago, I wore full fingered mountain bike gloves since it was cold out.
Old 08-09-2009, 10:09 AM

Originally Posted by Corey
Is that basically just exploring trails whether single track in the woods or fire roads?
Pretty much what I will be doing.