Cycling Mountain biking, road biking, any type of pedal powered biking

Beginner mountain bike choices...

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2005, 10:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Beginner mountain bike choices...

I know there's a bunch of mountain bikers on this board so I figured I'd ask for some help. I'm new to biking and wanted to take advantage of the local trails near the house for exercise. I've searched forums, read reviews, etc and want to buy one of the following bikes (I didn't want to spend more than $300). I plan on taking some test rides this weekend but wanted to get experienced opinions....

1. Trek 3500
2. Jamis Ranger SX
3. Giant Boulder

Of those three, which would you recommend and why?
Old 08-19-2005, 09:08 AM
Contributing Member

All 3 are fine bikes. COmponents are close - not much difference. I'd suggest riding them around the parking lot as much as you can and picking which is more comfortable. (even though they will "size" you to a bike - they're all slightly different and will feel different).

I may opt for the trek over the others due to the rigid fork. But I like sturdiness.
Old 08-19-2005, 09:22 AM
Contributing Member

Ditto above (except I'm a fan of suspension... ). All these bikes you can upgrade if you so desire. Definitely take a ride on each if you can. A medium in one brand may not be a medium in another...
Old 08-19-2005, 11:50 AM

Are all of those under $300? I've been wanting to get a bike, without spending a lot, but haven't decided on a road or mountain bike... Do any of you guys ride your mtn bikes on the road at all?
Old 08-19-2005, 12:04 PM
Contributing Member

I've ridden my KHS 304 as a commute bike when it was cooler around here, and other than being heavier and slower, (of course, it could have been me... ) it was fine. I don't have a road bike anymore, but the KHS gets the job done. Plus, if I want to do a little "urban assault" while I'm on my way to the church or back home... I can!
Old 08-19-2005, 12:17 PM