Camping, Expedition, & Overlanding Gear Discussion pertaining to outfitting yourself with gear for the great outdoors

Bivy Sacks vs Tent

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2010, 09:37 PM
Contributing Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Bivy Sacks vs Tent

Anyone have an opinion or better yet actual experience with a bivy sack vs a tent for a 1 - 2 night back packing trip? The bivy sacks seem like a neat idea but having never used one don't know the drawbacks.

Here's a couple just for reference. I'm surprised about how expensive they are.

$79.00 at REI no rain cover for this one but at least the skeeters can't feast at night.

Here's another one that gives rain shelter too. For a lot more money, $320.00. That seems way too expensive but I'm no expert.
Old 01-04-2010, 09:54 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The mosquito shelter would be ok if you are 100% sure the weather is going to be fine and you like sleping under the stars.

Otherwise the only people who really like bivies are super lightweight conscious hiking freaks. Cyclists like em too.They aren't too bad to sleep in as long as you don't really need them. I.e. The weather is fine.

Otherwise they are quite miserable. Picture yourself lying in something just slightly better than a body bag in the rain. Getting in and out without getting wet is impossible. You can't change in one etc. They seem like a great idea till you actually use it.

Yes I'm speaking from experience. Climber and hiker with 20+ years experience who also works at the Mountain Equipment Co-op part time.

Some companys like MSR and Big Agnes make some one and two man shelters now that are ridiculusly light and weatherproof and infinitely more comfortable.

However, you will pay for it. It's like buying a Toyota. You payed more when you coulda bought a Jeep but you did it because you knew it would work. Same applies to camping gear.

My personal fave is the MSR Carbon Reflex.

Cheers
Old 01-04-2010, 10:00 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post