All Other Toyota Swaps I4, I6, Lexus V8

1985 IFS pickup with 7mge wont start

Old 04-14-2014, 11:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1985 IFS pickup with 7mge wont start

About 9 months ago I blew the headgasket on the truck because my thermostat stopped working and the engine overheated. So I parked it since that happened and started working on it again a couple weeks ago, I took the head out got it machined and put it all back together with a new headgasket kit now all the truck wants to do is crank. I checked the spark plug wire for spark and im getting nothing. The truck does have a killswitch chip and although ive never had problems with it in the past when I did use to drive it before blowing the headgasket this is essentially what would happen if you took the chip out and tried to start it , it would just crank. Im a huge noob and really not sure what to do at this point so any help is appreciated
Old 06-13-2014, 12:49 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
If you just redid your engine you need to install a fail safe thermostat. They are a little more money, but if they fail they fail in the open position. Instead of your engine overheating it doesn't heat up enough...you hardly get heat out of your heater.
Toyota computers cannot be chipped, so what are you referring to when you talk about a kill switch chip?