3.4 Swaps The 3.4 V6 Toyota engine

no spark searched and searched

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2015, 09:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
no spark searched and searched

Ok guys here's the story. 91 ext cab 5 speed swap with 96 auto 4runner. Swap has been done for over 2 years and easy 30,000 miles. Truck has been just fantastic, i love it!! At first, once and a while it cranked long till it started. (10 15 seconds) eventualy it took long to crank everytime, but ALWAYS started.( 2 weeks) then cel finaly gave me crank sensor. That could cause my problem. It ohms out ok, but i replace it any way. Still no start. I replaced fuel filter and plugs (ngk 3967) just because i already had them. No dice. So i pulled ecu out of kick panel... everything looks ok. I did the wiring and made a plug in harness from 3.0 harness and 3.4 body connectors. Everything is soldered and shrink tube. Im an electrician for a living so i know i did good job. I cant test the igniter so i got one from a crashed 4runner at junkyard. Still nothing. I am still getting crank sensor code so i ohmed the wires at the computer connector to crank sensor and fine. Ohms dont even flicker when i wiggle the wire. I hate to buy another auto ecu, but if i re pin for a manual ecu and it has no spark i just threw in a whole lot of new variables.
Sorry for such a long post but i checked everywere and read everything i could find.
I just ordered the fsm on ebay for $85. I need cam sensor values or test procedure. And i can run through the ignition troubleshooting flow chart.
Anybody have any ideas? I also put battery tender on it for 24 hours, still no spark. ( batt not old or cheap, just trying anything) truck has been down 2 weeks and im forced to drive my fox body stang.
Old 04-22-2015, 09:59 AM