YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Off Road Tech, Fab Shop, Solid Axle Swaps, Tool Time, & Engine Swaps > Engine Swap Talk > 3.4 Swaps
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


3.4 Swaps The 3.4 V6 Toyota engine

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-24-2013, 10:36 PM   #1
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
jjyoda_86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: eureka, Ca HUMBOLDT
Posts: 48
no power brakes at high rpms

so the other day I noticed I had no power brakes after racing past this moron on the road the other day after passing him I needed to make the next turn hit the brakes and had no power assist until rpms dropped to 4500 or less. I then decided to smoke test the brake booster and it and it was leaking so I replaced it with another one, used but it was working good on the truck it came off. still I have a rock hard pedal at high rpms. trying to figure out if im supposed to be using the 3.4 booster or not.
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
jjyoda_86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 10:41 PM   #2
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 1,737
Your brakes work off of vacuum. The engine vacuum is greater at lower rpm or when your not pressing the gas. When you push the pedal to the floor the engine doesn't create enough vacuum for power brakes.
__________________
1992 4runner 4x4 SR5 V6 Auto. Soon to have 5.3L
DD 2008 Chevy Colorado Extended cab 2wd
2001 Chevy 2500HD Duramax/Allison 4x4
JasonYota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 08:57 PM   #3
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
aztoyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tucson
Posts: 487
Do you have a check valve between the vacuum source and the booster? It will maintain the vacuum in the booster even though your intake vacuum will drop off when you punch it.

My donor 99 3.4 4Runner did not have one in the line like my 88 22RE did. Maybe built in the booster of the 99?

I took the check valve off my 88 and put it in my booster line.
__________________
88 Pickup, 4"SAS, R151F Hybrid, HP Front, V6 Rear, Aussies, 63" Chevs, Warn 8274, Bumpers and Sliders, 3.4 Swap and Dual Ultimate.
aztoyman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 10:24 PM   #4
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
jjyoda_86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: eureka, Ca HUMBOLDT
Posts: 48
no I do not have a check valve in between the booster and intake. that was my next solution just have to go pick one up and see what happens. thanks for the intel.
jjyoda_86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 09:03 PM   #5
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
jjyoda_86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: eureka, Ca HUMBOLDT
Posts: 48
I installed the one way check valve and it fixed my brake problem.
jjyoda_86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 11:57 AM   #6
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mission, KS
Posts: 21
+1 on this solution, I used the 3.4 vacuum hose and spliced in the check valve from the 3.0:

MechanicTony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 08:22 PM   #7
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
NWLS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 68
where did you pick up the check valve from?
NWLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 10:01 PM   #8
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
aztoyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tucson
Posts: 487
Just grab one from a truck that has one or buy a generic one from a parts store that fits the line.
__________________
88 Pickup, 4"SAS, R151F Hybrid, HP Front, V6 Rear, Aussies, 63" Chevs, Warn 8274, Bumpers and Sliders, 3.4 Swap and Dual Ultimate.
aztoyman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 10:04 PM   #9
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mission, KS
Posts: 21
Mine came off my 91 Toyota Pickup with a 3.0 - make sure to put it in the right way or you'll have no power brakes.
MechanicTony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 10:04 PM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Tags
brakes, high, higher, rpm, rpms, running, stiff, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:16 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.