3.4 Swaps The 3.4 V6 Toyota engine

Newbie 3.0 to 3.4 Conversion PLEASE HELP

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2013, 08:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie 3.0 to 3.4 Conversion PLEASE HELP

I know there are tons of forums and I have been searching all over but havent found my exact questions answered so please help!! I am a newbie at Toyotas. I built my 1991 Jeep XJ from the ground up but need help.

I have a 1990 Toyota pickup that had a 3.0, its dead now. So I have a 1999 3.4 engine that used manual tranny with all the wiring that was in it. I still have the body of the 3.0 and 5 spd tranny. I just am not sure where to start at exactly how to correctly do it. I have never had a vehicle without having to work on it constantly and i am in college. I just would like to do it correctly where its not such a tedious project of constantly fixing it.

Thanks for every ones help in advance and it means a great deal.
Old 10-30-2013, 10:45 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I'm not trying to be mean or rude. But start reading. Plan on reading a few hours every night. There are a whole bunch of stickied threads in the 3.4 swap forum. Read every word of every thread, then read them all again. If you've done that and still have questions, read the FAQ thread again. Still have questions? Post away my friend. We'll gladly help you if you have a problem, but we're not going to hold your hand and say "take out that bolt, now that one, and then this one" Also, google is your friend. It knows everything. Pirate4x4 has some great info and the folk over there know their stuff, but be warned, they will eat you alive if you start a thread for something like this.

Assuming you've already read the threads, what are the "exact questions" you talked about in your opening sentence that you can't find?
Old 10-30-2013, 02:31 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
X2 ^
Yep everything you could ever want to know about wiring and hardware is on this forum.