3.4 Swaps The 3.4 V6 Toyota engine

My first, and hopefully last engine swap.

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2014, 06:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My first, and hopefully last engine swap.

Thought I'd start a thread to document my engine swap. I've never done anything like this before and I am no mechanic by any means but I can google, read and do minor fab so I thought I'd take a shot at it.

First pic is of the 1995 3.0 Manual 4runner Sequoia Edition I picked up in Vancouver a week or so ago (Yep, another Canadian swap!) on the trailer after getting her home. Second pick is of the tow rig, and in the background you can see my engine hoists. The truck has a blown head gasket so perfect for my swap. She will be getting a 95.5 tacoma engine that I picked up super cheap.

Future plans include a SAS and maybe a chop. For now just want to get it running and do some camping. Sitting on some 33 goodyear duratracs with like new tread. The thing that made me snatch it up though was front and rear ARBs and 4.88s.
Attached Thumbnails My first, and hopefully last engine swap.-4runner-squioa.jpg   My first, and hopefully last engine swap.-towrig4unnrer.jpg  
Old 05-29-2014, 07:14 PM

Also ordered a timing belt kit and an assortment of other junk off amazon to help with my swap. Got a little bit outa hand and got some extra stuff to.. looking forward to having a air die grinder, also picked up an obd II scanner and oil pressure gauge among other things.

I plan on getting my parts shipped just south of the border and running down there to get it all.
Old 06-01-2014, 07:33 PM

Got some stuff done today. Engine is almost out, all thats left are trans bolts and getting the wiring harness through the firewall. Hope to be pulling the 3.4 tomorrow as well.
Old 06-01-2014, 08:08 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
What's a Sequoia edition anyway? Good luck on your swap.
Old 06-01-2014, 08:18 PM

Originally Posted by vasinvictor