3.4 Swaps The 3.4 V6 Toyota engine

Fedral Emissions 3.4 Swap Truck moving into California

Old 10-02-2015, 08:12 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Fedral Emissions 3.4 Swap Truck moving into California

I moved from Wyoming, back to California with my pickup. It's a Federal emissions 1990 Toyota Pickup that I swapped to a 3.4 V6. Just wanted to give some information for anybody else.

This is from an actual Referee appointment today, I had questions I asked prior to the ref, but they were never answered so I drove the 4 hours just to make the appointment anyways. No, I did not pass, not even close.

Q: Will they be more lenient if my truck is a federal emissions vehicle, and I was a resident out-of-state prior?
A: The answer is not really. The only thing he let go, was that the catalytic converter was a 49-state.

Q: By means of emissions components, what is all required for federal vehicles?
A: For this swap, my stuff is 1998. The 3.4 Charcoal Canister will be required no matter what. He didn't say anything about not having an EGR, and in the forms it's marked as N/A. So I was in the clear for that.
Also, your ECU must show that all components are marked as ready. Some code scanners will show this while your motor is running in a section called "Emissions Readiness", and you're gonna wanna try to get them all show as ready. Toyota does have a TSB guide to show how to make these show ready, as long as everything is correct and working.

Q: So what exhaust is legal, and what do they mean by components having to match the same location as a stock 3.4 setup?