3.4 Swaps The 3.4 V6 Toyota engine

88 4runner 3.4l swap

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2013, 10:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
88 4runner 3.4l swap

So i started a swap on my 88 4runner. Used Donor engine is off of a 2000 Tacoma.
I'm no mechanic, so thank god for Yotatech. Everyones been very helpful.
I've gotten my 3.0 pulled, stripped and returned the core. I got my t100 Oil pan/pick-up/baffle yesterday. I've ordered a new Timing belt kit with water pump, gasket set for exhaust manifold, and Intake gasket set, hoping they'll arrive soon. Hopefully this stuff aint going to take me too long, I'm a little nervous on the timing belt/water pump replacement(I got a manual though) >< I saw a couple threads on removing the Pilot bearing without a puller, but didnt really understand how to put the new one in? Doesnt cover it in the manual. (Figured I'd just get a socket and a hammer and tap it in)?? The throwout bearing seems pretty simple. But what kind of grease am i supposed to use? Does it matter?
I'll post some pics as i progress. Thanks Yotatech =D
Old 03-21-2013, 10:19 PM

[IMG][/IMG]
Old 03-21-2013, 10:21 PM

Pulling the engine. Ran out of hydrolic jack fluid, had to pull my damn tires off there to get the engine out the rest of the way.. DERP! ><
[IMG][/IMG]
Old 03-21-2013, 10:22 PM

[IMG][/IMG]
Old 03-21-2013, 10:24 PM

Hatin my exhaust nuts, I rounded another 3 on the manifold of the 3.0 before i got it off >.<[IMG][/IMG]
Old 03-21-2013, 11:29 PM
Donny, you're out of your element
Staff

Received 54 Likes on 34 Posts
Good start!

You won't need to worry about that crappy 3.0 exhaust setup, no need to even bother taking that pipe off
Old 03-22-2013, 06:35 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts