3.4 Swaps The 3.4 V6 Toyota engine

3.4 Swap 101

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2011, 10:50 AM

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
3.4 Swap 101

YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Finally got this post repaired and the pictures put back...........after a couple years.

Hopefully its still helping people.
12-22-2017
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It seems a lot of the same questions come up repeatedly so I though that I would make a post that covers many of the issues that seems to stump people. This is in no way meant to be a "how to swap a 3.4" or an instruction manual. This is just my thoughts and ideas on how I did things. I am not an expert and do not have anything to do with cars in my professional life. I teach elementary school. My only knowledge is doing the swap only twice and that hardly qualifies me as an expert and I not pretending to be. There are things that I still do not understand, like the A/C system . Hopefully someone can add a good , detailed writeup on that someday on HOW it works and some good diagrams and pictures.

If I made mistakes, please point them out for everyone's benefit who reads this. I don't want to spread misinformation. If you want to be the smartest kid in class and tell me how stupid my thoughts are, save it.

Also, I noticed that the videos do not show up on my iPad. Sorry.

Mounting the Airbox:

This is surely not the most difficult task of the swap but I thought that I would include it nonetheless. You can do this without the factory snorkel behind the fender or not. Either way, the motor is going to get enough air. I have done both. If you want a look at how to mount it with the snorkel you can take a look at my thread. The link is in my signature, or check out Cadman's thread for a REALLY sweet job. I still believe that Cadman has the best 3.4 swap thread of the billions of pages on the internet, although it doesn't cover any wiring info.