Maintenance & Repair Archives Note: This section will be merged in with the other tech areas soon, and is now closed

transmission fluid change

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2004, 05:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
transmission fluid change

I drained my transmission fluid the other day, it ended up being just a hair over a gallon. I read that you should replace as much as you drained, so I did. But now when I check the level on the dipstick it shows it way over the full line. What should I do????
Old 08-11-2004, 06:37 AM
Contributing Member

Is this checking immediately after refilling? Or is this checking after starting the engine?
Old 08-11-2004, 06:41 AM

Originally Posted by Tacoma Dude
Is this checking immediately after refilling? Or is this checking after starting the engine?

I checked it right after I filled it.
Old 08-11-2004, 06:44 AM
Contributing Member

There could be fluid still in the tube or (I'm no expert here, I haven't done this myself yet) maybe you need to start the engine so that the fluid cycles through to where it was removed.

That would be my guess. If you've replaced all that you lost, I don't think you'll be doing any harm to the engine by starting it.
Old 08-11-2004, 08:38 AM

Originally Posted by Tacoma Dude
There could be fluid still in the tube or (I'm no expert here, I haven't done this myself yet) maybe you need to start the engine so that the fluid cycles through to where it was removed.

That would be my guess. If you've replaced all that you lost, I don't think you'll be doing any harm to the engine by starting it.

THANKS FOR THE INFO!
Old 08-11-2004, 09:00 AM
Contributing Member

Most trans have an overflow spout anyway...so if you notice it leaking out, I wouldnt worry.
Old 08-11-2004, 10:20 AM
Contributing Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Is this an auto tranny? If so, then the proper procedure to check the fluid level is to:
1. start the engine
2. shift through all the gears then put it in park