P0121 - Throttle Pedal Switch Position Sensor - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   >


Maintenance & Repair Archives Note: This section will be merged in with the other tech areas soon, and is now closed

P0121 - Throttle Pedal Switch Position Sensor

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-13-2005, 07:47 AM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Andrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,009
P0121 - Throttle Pedal Switch Position Sensor

Last night my "check engine" light came one. Running through OBD-II diagnostics it came up with the following code:

P0121 - Throttle Pedal Sensor Switch "A" Circuit Range/Performance.

Honestly, I'm not even exactly sure where to look. Has someone run into similar issue or is there a place where I can adjust the throttle pedal cable position?
Andrey is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 12:27 PM   #2
Contributing Member
 
boogyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 662
Talking

You need to replace the throttle position sensor.. it's on the back of the throttle body.. costs about $80 at the dealership. unfortunately, cleaning it doesn't really help. I had to replace mine at about 60k

Last edited by boogyman; 05-13-2005 at 12:33 PM.
boogyman is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 06:58 AM   #3
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Andrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by boogyman
You need to replace the throttle position sensor.. it's on the back of the throttle body.. costs about $80 at the dealership. unfortunately, cleaning it doesn't really help. I had to replace mine at about 60k
Is it difficult to replace? When I went to the dealership (had to balance tires), they quoted me over $950 to replace throttle sensor and something else. The guy recommended not to do it though since he wasn't 100% sure if that'll fix the problem.

Can I get in touch with you later on to ask for more details? I'd rather pay $80 and do it myself.

Thanks,
-- Andrey
Andrey is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 04:39 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chesterfield, Virginia
Posts: 21
Tps

I had the same error, but was able to adjust mine with a feeler gauge. It wasn't that difficult, and after I reset the ECU, the code was gone. Just my $.02
Wade is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 08:13 PM   #5
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Andrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wade
I had the same error, but was able to adjust mine with a feeler gauge. It wasn't that difficult, and after I reset the ECU, the code was gone. Just my $.02
If you don't mind me asking, what's the filler gauge?

Thanks,
-- Andrey
Andrey is offline  
 

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
94 pickup 22re sluggish bogging idle issues montanatruck 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 14 04-21-2016 05:52 PM
Please help! smthwsn357 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 7 04-11-2016 06:22 AM
94 pickup front diff issues and bushings Steven.m.paulk 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) 3 07-24-2015 02:44 PM
96 3.4, very high idle no vacuum leaks I can find greenbuggy 3.4 Swaps 4 07-23-2015 12:51 PM
ENGINE TROUBLE 3vze please help :( smiley52 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 8 07-11-2015 06:16 AM


Tags
check, circuit, engine, p0121, pedal, pos, position, problem, rangeperformance, replace, sensor, sensorswitch, switch, throttle, throttlepetal

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:11 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.