CV Axle replacement on 2nd Gen? - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   > >


Maintenance & Repair Archives Note: This section will be merged in with the other tech areas soon, and is now closed

CV Axle replacement on 2nd Gen?

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-20-2005, 09:39 AM   #1
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Thread Starter
 
Yota4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Peterborough Ontario
Posts: 1,192
CV Axle replacement on 2nd Gen?

I searched and can't seem to find what I am looking for.

How difficult is it to do this? I have a torn Boot, and I think the whole axel is toast as its vibrating pretty bad. From what my Manual says it doesn't seem overly difficult. I am quite mechanically inclined, I just want to be sure I'm not undertaking a major job before I start.

Your thoughts and opinions are greatly appreciated.
Yota4runner is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 09:53 AM   #2
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
green91runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: thunder bay, ontario
Posts: 895
nope, it isnt hard at all.. i did it in about an hour and a half.. careful with your swaybar endlink though, they snap real easy and are expensive to replace... although, its a good excuse to get disconnects, lol.

there are a bunch of threads about it...
http://www.yotatech.com/showthread.p...hlight=cv+axle

http://www.yotatech.com/showthread.p...hlight=cv+axle

http://www.yotatech.com/showthread.p...hlight=cv+axle

http://www.yotatech.com/showthread.p...hlight=cv+axle


just to name a few... good luck, not that you'll need it.
oh, and if you haven't already picked up an axle, i have the one i took out, which is actually fine.. that i could let you have for a good price, since your in ontario.

Last edited by green91runner; 04-20-2005 at 09:59 AM.
green91runner is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 10:09 AM   #3
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Thread Starter
 
Yota4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Peterborough Ontario
Posts: 1,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by green91runner
nope, it isnt hard at all.. i did it in about an hour and a half.. careful with your swaybar endlink though, they snap real easy and are expensive to replace... although, its a good excuse to get disconnects, lol.

there are a bunch of threads about it...
http://www.yotatech.com/showthread.p...hlight=cv+axle

http://www.yotatech.com/showthread.p...hlight=cv+axle

http://www.yotatech.com/showthread.p...hlight=cv+axle

http://www.yotatech.com/showthread.p...hlight=cv+axle


just to name a few... good luck, not that you'll need it.
oh, and if you haven't already picked up an axle, i have the one i took out, which is actually fine.. that i could let you have for a good price, since your in ontario.

Thanks Green, Yeah I don't have on yet but I have one on order, should be in tomorrow I would imagine. Bit annoying really, it just started vibrating bad the other day I looked underneath and the CV boot was torn, not sure how long its been like that. Likely before I bought it as I would have noticed the grease being flung everywhere I think.
Yota4runner is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 10:20 AM   #4
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (1)
iTrader: ( 1 )
 
rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,683
Wow, I was needing to know the same exact stuff but now i have all this info right in front of me. Each of my boots are ripped to shreds.

Thank you too green91!
rocket is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 10:20 AM   #5
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
green91runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: thunder bay, ontario
Posts: 895
could always cancel the order.. *nudge, nudge* lol, could really use the extra coin, and i have no space for all this stuff in my place. either way, good luck with the repair

Last edited by green91runner; 04-20-2005 at 10:24 AM.
green91runner is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 11:00 AM   #6
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Thread Starter
 
Yota4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Peterborough Ontario
Posts: 1,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by green91runner
could always cancel the order.. *nudge, nudge* lol, could really use the extra coin, and i have no space for all this stuff in my place. either way, good luck with the repair
What else do you have?
Yota4runner is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 11:05 AM   #7
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
green91runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: thunder bay, ontario
Posts: 895
lol, nothing else thats in good enough shape to sell, least not for the 4runner... im just cleaning up the backyard (not that the axle is in the backyard, currently sitting in the back of the runner)... 3 cars, 2 motors, 2 trannies i think.. huge pile of scrap metal and other crap. just waiting for the spring cleanup special at the dump. and technically i'd say there is space but my co-inhabitants are getting kinda pissed.

Last edited by green91runner; 04-20-2005 at 11:19 AM.
green91runner is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 11:15 AM   #8
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Thread Starter
 
Yota4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Peterborough Ontario
Posts: 1,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by green91runner
lol, nothing else thats in good enough shape to sell, least not for the 4runner... im just cleaning up the backyard (not that the axle is in the backyard, currently sitting in the back of the runner)... 3 cars, 2 motors, 2 trannies i think.. huge pile of scrap metal and other crap. just waiting for the spring cleanup special at the dump. and technically i'd say there is space but my co-inhabitants are getting kinda pissed.
That sucks, *Shrugs* I'll think about it. I don't know. I may be in the hunt for another CV Joint, so I can do both sides. But We'll see.
Yota4runner is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 11:20 AM   #9
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
green91runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: thunder bay, ontario
Posts: 895
yea , don't usually pull something off the runner unless it's broken, the cv.. well, had 3 mechanics tell me that was the problem.. it wasn't.. although there's another member on this board from yt from thunder bay that apparently has a bunch of nice stuff sitting in his garage. i'll let him chime in.
green91runner is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 12:24 PM   #10
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Blair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The rolling hills of Cavan, Ontario
Posts: 737
Hey Chris,
The job is a piece of cake. Basiclly take the four bolts of, push the axle toward the outside and slip 'em off. Reverse for the install. I've got two of 'em in my hanger at Norwood, waiting for rebuild. I got a pair from Toyota Parts Dude for a great price last year.
Blair is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 01:17 PM   #11
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Thread Starter
 
Yota4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Peterborough Ontario
Posts: 1,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blair
Hey Chris,
The job is a piece of cake. Basiclly take the four bolts of, push the axle toward the outside and slip 'em off. Reverse for the install. I've got two of 'em in my hanger at Norwood, waiting for rebuild. I got a pair from Toyota Parts Dude for a great price last year.
ahh cool. Thats what I like to hear. Yeah, looks like next week is when it will be done. I'm sure a few of these will be consumed during the install
Yota4runner is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 08:31 PM   #12
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Dekri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 613
Quote:
Originally Posted by green91runner
oh, and if you haven't already picked up an axle, i have the one i took out, which is actually fine.. that i could let you have for a good price, since your in ontario.
Green91, if you haven't gotten rid of that axle yet I may be interested. Im having trouble finding one. I am planning on doing the same thing, I haven't worked on my runner much at all and the $1000 the shop wants to replace it is enough inspiration for me to start working on it myself. drop me a PM if you have a price in mind and don't mind shipping it. Though its not a guarantee I can get it just yet due to money issues right now
Dekri is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 09:23 PM   #13
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
green91runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: thunder bay, ontario
Posts: 895
$1000?!?! wow.. thats way too high.. at most you should be looking at is $200.
green91runner is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 10:35 AM   #14
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Thread Starter
 
Yota4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Peterborough Ontario
Posts: 1,192
Yeah thats pretty rediculous. It takes about an an hour and a half I reckon. From what I have read and looked at on my truck, shouldn't take too long, and a brand new axel is only 150$. I think Your shop is nuts.
Yota4runner is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 01:36 PM   #15
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Silver_Truck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: B'ham, WA
Posts: 1,817
wow...other people had it easy, on my truck it was a rather large pain. I just couldn't seem to get the clearence to get the flange free of the bolts on the diff side. Ended up unbolting the lower ball joing and pulling the rotor out until there was enough clearence. Hope it doesn't go like that for you ...good luck
Silver_Truck is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 02:51 PM   #16
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Robinhood150's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wandering around Phoenix
Posts: 6,033
Yeah, the first time you switch out the CV it's a huge pain in the butt, probably 3-5 hours if you take your time. It gets much faster once you've done it a couple times.
Robinhood150 is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 08:35 PM   #17
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Blair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The rolling hills of Cavan, Ontario
Posts: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silver_Truck
wow...other people had it easy, on my truck it was a rather large pain. I just couldn't seem to get the clearence to get the flange free of the bolts on the diff side...
Just curious, but did you compress the axle all the way in?
I thought I had a similar problem, but my buddy showed me that little trick and it slipped right off.
Blair is offline  
Old 04-23-2005, 06:39 AM   #18
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
MrGaryFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 16
I actually just replaced my CV axle a couple days ago. I got a rebuilt one for like $70 at autozone after i gave them the broken one. Doesn't take long to put in at all. I actually broke mine and drove on it for a while, and it finally ate up all the bearings and seals inside the hub. So $600 in parts later, I have a new CV axle, warn hubs, spindle, and sway bar disconnects. Good luck.
MrGaryFish is offline  
 

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RedRunner_87's aka "Operation Mall Crawler" Build Thread RedRunner_87 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners (Build-Up Section) 41 05-24-2016 10:33 AM
Removing CV with manual hubs ItsJustD 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4 07-07-2015 07:49 AM
2nd gen with runner cage Steezy96yota 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) 1 07-06-2015 10:00 AM
FS[SouthEast]: 1st Gen 4Runner Slider Window, Driver Side coryc85 Misc Stuff (Vehicle Related) 0 07-06-2015 04:07 AM
New AC Questions (Not the same old ones) HRDC0R19 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 3 07-05-2015 06:43 PM


Tags
1998, 2nd, 4runner, 4runners, 4wd, axle, chevy, cv, gen, generation, hours, joints, pickup, replacement, tacomas, toyota

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:35 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.