alignment after SAS? - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   >


Solid Axle Swaps, All Years Anything SAS related

alignment after SAS?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2007, 02:35 AM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Branford, CT.
Posts: 925
alignment after SAS?

I was just looking at some SAS threads. How do you align a truck that had IFS if all the alignment cams were removed with the rest of the stuff? I'm sure it's probably in the instructions, but I'm just curious.
HAVOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 04:50 AM   #2
Registered User
 
xcmountain80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 1,921
Well for a trail rig and a method we used while at Tellico for a trail fix . Grab a tape measure and measure the inside distance of the front and the rear of the tire. Yes I know sounds like it wont work but it does.

Aaron
xcmountain80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 04:58 AM   #3
Registered User
 
seafarinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Thurston County WA State
Posts: 976
Solid axles only have a toe-in and caster angle adjustment. I had to install a 6* shim on my spring pack to get the caster in the correct range of 5*-7* because I was getting some bad death wobble. The toe-in adjustment is just the way that XCmountain80 said. You should have anywhere from 0-1/4" toe-in (tires pointed inward in front).
seafarinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 10:29 AM   #4
Contributing Member
iTrader: (2)
 
4Crawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 10,785
Here is how I align mine:
- http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTri...html#Alignment
4Crawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 07:35 PM   #5
Registered User
 
derrik86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: pismo beach
Posts: 35
alignment shop

couldnt u just align it of have it aligned at on a alignment rack but align it to the specs of whatever vehicle it came off of ?
derrik86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 07:57 PM   #6
Registered User
 
ozziesironmanoffroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Spring Valley, CA
Posts: 6,002
unless it was the same EXACT vehicle, with the EXACT weight, just SAS and not IFS, then no, since that vehicle would be heavier. for example, ive heard of people taking ford axles and putting them on a yota, and then trying to align them to the ford. doesnt work that way. alignments have to be done to the car that is being worked on, no exceptions that i know of.
ozziesironmanoffroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2007, 07:59 PM   #7
Contributing Member
 
Tofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Puyallup WA.
Posts: 9,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by 89dlx View Post
I'm sure it's probably in the instructions, but I'm just curious.
you have more research to do......
Tofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Joe's 1987 4Runner ladybugRC 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) 280 09-25-2016 10:14 AM
BLAZELAND LT IN 87 4RUNNER INSTALLED / CV comment and Question. JookUpVandetti 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 10 09-30-2015 08:58 AM
22re turbo 87 4runner voiddweller 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 16 09-28-2015 11:21 PM
86 Narrowed tons and 4Ds Toys4parts 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) 2 09-26-2015 01:56 PM
Second Ge Tacoma SAS Project90 Solid Axle Swaps, All Years 0 09-24-2015 11:40 PM


Tags
101, 1985, 46, 4runner, adjustment, aligned, alignment, angle, automotive, caster, ford, pickup, sas, toein, toyota, tpypta

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:41 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.