Land Usage & Off Road Responsibility Discussion pertaining to the education of proper land usage, closures, and responsible off road driving

land closures

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2010, 06:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
land closures

me and a buddy were up wheelin a little bit last friday. and on our way down the hill a sherrif stopped us and lectured us on how were not supposed to be up there and all the usual stuff they tell you about us being in the wrong. he told us that we may not be the people doing it but its people like us that are making them close everything off to the public even tho its public land.

so my qyestion is what can we do to keep it open. i'm only 18 so i'm new to all this. i've ben wheeling my whole life. and i hate to see it go away because of the few people who ruin it. i'm gonna try to join one of our 4x4 clubs and i try to pick up garbage on the trails when i see it. but what else can we do?
Old 10-25-2010, 06:57 PM
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Oh boy...

Sounds like you got the right idea. Keep it clean, thread lightly, use a quite exhaust if your wheeling near other people, etc.

But, be prepared to get a bunch of crap from people on here.
Old 10-25-2010, 07:19 PM

yeah. idk if i just didn't notice it till now or what but it never really bothered me till they fenced off most of the places we used to go. and started arresting people. but we have alot of people around here that give the rest a bad rep
Old 10-25-2010, 07:23 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
You have to be careful of where you wheel nowadays there giving 1000 dollar tickets in some places here.

just do you homework im 16 and i just went to city hall and asked them where i was able to wheel
Old 10-25-2010, 07:23 PM
Fossilized
Staff

Received 448 Likes on 293 Posts
it seems like you are on the right track, things you can do
stay on established trails in known areas
-don't make your own trails,