General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Another alternator question 89 22r

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2013, 05:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Another alternator question 89 22r

Same problem as in the previous thread, brake and battery light on. I pulled the alternator and wanted to attempt changing the brushes. I've never done it before and the worse thing that happens is I screw up and got to get a new alternator. I bought the whole Nippon denso brush holder assembly on ebay for like 8 bucks. I got out the old brushes and the lower one was sticking, gummed up and looked worn beyond limits, so probably that was it. However, when I removed the old assembly, it cracked up. No big deal. Also the rubber cap that goes over the brush holder tore on one side when I pulled it up to get the old brush unit out. After installing the new unit I got this rubber thing back on somewhat snugly, but it is a little warped and now one side is torn. Does any one know if this will effect the operation of the alternator?

Thanks for the info. Also, I have never opened up an alternator; it is a little greasy in there. Is this normal? The thing was actually working most of the time before I pulled it anyways. The batt and brake light was an intermittent problem on startup and usually went away. I thought I would just nip this problem in the bud.
Old 12-08-2013, 06:51 PM

Received 663 Likes on 455 Posts
Originally Posted by Bruinpilot
... this rubber thing
problem well-stated is a problem half-solved. What rubber thing? pics?

It is a little greasy in there. Is this normal?
Not normal but expected of an old truck; pulleys/belt would fling oil at the alternator. Someday, when there's enough dirt deposits there, that junk could get conductive and cause shorts or mess up brush operation.