General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

5 alternators in 5 months??!! WHY

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2016, 05:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
5 alternators in 5 months??!! WHY

I just bought an 86 22REC 4x4 and i have replaced the alternator 5 times. I am no mechanic by any means and i find it hard to believe i am just getting a bad alternator each time. I was wondering if any body else has had this problem. I don't have any extra stereo or anything that would drain the battery. Could it be the wiring? I don't know! Please help!
Old 04-19-2016, 07:27 PM

Received 108 Likes on 87 Posts
I would check out the wiring and the battery for good measure. Out of curiosity, what alternators are you using?
Old 04-19-2016, 08:12 PM

im not sure. after the 2nd one i had a mechanic do it. i thought i was doing something wrong. there are a lot of loose ends on the wiring though i think it might be a good idea to do it. this is my first toyota and i want to get it tits.
Old 04-19-2016, 10:22 PM
Super Moderator
Staff

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Years ago on a Ford, I had to swap out 4 starters in 4 months. Got to where I could do it blindfolded. It is getting harder to find shops that rebuild starters and alternators. Most parts stores have them rebuilt in Mexico and they can be bad out of the box. Have your rebuilt locally if possible and if they know what they are doing.

Bad wiring will cause you issues. Get those fixed first.
Old 04-19-2016, 11:26 PM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

Just what happens if your getting a month out of each one they seem to at least work.

All these failed alternators where checked when returned as bad so you received credit.

Is it not rather expensive to have these bad alternators swapped ??