Alarm Systems Discussion related to installation, diagnostics, and purchasing of alarm systems

convertible alarm system

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2009, 12:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
convertible alarm system

heyy i've been scoping out these forums for a while and just admiring all the cool stuff that people do to their 4runners. I have an 87 4runner and last summer i drove it with the top off no problem but this year i've been pretty hesitant because i dropped a couple of 12 inch subs in the back. i was hoping that someone could help me out with finding a convertible alarm system w/ a power door lock conversion?

I dont really know where to start, i kinda fail at all the alarm lingo.

thx fer anything,
luwer
Old 03-22-2009, 08:44 PM

I am by no means an expert myself but I have installed a few and here is what I have found.......

Viper is the brand I have delt with most which is a division of Directed Electronics and they offer several options you can add to their systems that will help with your situation. Things like: glass sensors, equilibrium or roll sensors, door triggers, etc.

The best thing to do is go to an authorized dealer of the brand you want to buy and ask them about the features for your application. Even if you are not going to buy from them or have them install it they can answer your questions more directly than I can since they are schooled in that particular namebrand. Also, I have been out of it for bout 2 years now so no tellin what they offer now days.

Thomas
Old 08-09-2009, 09:05 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You can get cheaper units on ebay and the internet.

For a topless 4runner, you would want a microwave sensor with adjustable proximity. Dual zone sensing is also nice. From what I understand, they would get a warning before a full blown alarm.
Old 08-09-2009, 09:53 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts