General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) If topic doesn't apply to Toyotas whatsoever, it should be in Off Topic

Cheap and Effective Exhaust Leak Detector

Old 02-19-2016, 04:20 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cheap and Effective Exhaust Leak Detector

I've been tinkering with old 89 model 4Runner for a few months and have her looking and running good but the ticking of an exhaust leak was really starting to bother me. I just knew it was going to be at the manifolds of the 3VZE so, of course, I had exhaust mods on my mind. Before I got too carried away I decided I needed to know for sure where the leak was and was looking for a good way to test for it without all of the noise from the engine and air from the fan so I came up with this. It's probably already been done but I never saw it so I thought I'd post this method that worked so well for me.

I had seen where a guy had pressurized his exhaust system by putting the exhaust hose of a shop vac in the tail pipe and spraying soapy water on the joints to try and find the leak but I didn't like that I couldn't hear the leak over the noise of the vacuum or the fact that I'd have to clean my filthy shop vac to avoid blowing a bunch of sawdust and other crud into my muffler.

What I did was find a female threaded 1.5" pvc cap and a male threaded unidentified adapter (I think it was part of a pool hose that adapts a rubber hose to threaded pvc). I used a 7/16 drill bit to make a hole in the top of the cap, filed it out just a little more and then threaded in a 1/4" male air tool fitting that would hook up to my shop air. I pushed the black fitting into the tail pipe and found it just a hair too small to seal off well so I added a little electrical tape to it and it fit real tight. I wrapped the outside of the joint with a little more tape just to hold it all together and then threaded on my cap with air fitting.