Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

perfect 85 runner setup?

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2010, 07:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
perfect 85 runner setup?

I have been searching and searching for the thread that will help me make up my mind about what mods i want to do to my 85 runner sr5. its a 22re and had a suspension lift when i bought it (although i dont know how high). what do you all recommend i do to make my rig the ultimate long distance travel (expedition) offroading ride???

any thoughts are appreciated...even though cost is an issue, i WILL NOT sacrifice quality!!!

i am new to the game, so i dont know the best brands, or what reasonable prices are so please give me the hook up on all aspects of your suggestions...

thanks!
Old 02-18-2010, 07:32 PM
Banned

Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts
Look at my website.

Old 02-18-2010, 08:07 PM

What specific parts do you think i need for my desired purposes?

I am going to be driving long distances to camp, climb, dive, and just all around explore places rarely seen...
Old 02-20-2010, 10:03 AM

What's your budget?
Old 02-20-2010, 10:38 AM

i dont want to put any more than 10000 in the truck and i paid about 3500 for the vehicle...
Old 02-20-2010, 11:27 AM

So 6500 for mods on an expedition vehicle? That sounds like a healthy start. I will toss some ideas your way a little later when I have more time. Any ideas you get here are only a starting point, however. Especially on an expedition vehicle, most mods are there for the sake of making you comfortable, and that is really up to what makes YOU comfortable. Gears, locking diffs, and armor are always a good investment, though, more important than a lift or other suspension work in terms of usability offroad.

More to follow later when I have more time =)
Old 02-20-2010, 11:50 AM