Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Engine rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2012, 01:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Engine rebuild

My 89 3.0 is locked up, dumped all her oil and is now seized up. I am not in a position to buy a new engine or truck so my only alternative is to rebuilt it. I am a wind turbine technician so I have plenty of mechanical and electrical background, I just need to know where to get started. I have my Chilton's manual and just about any tools I would need. Also any suggestions on which rebuild kit to get would be nice.
I love my yota and don't want to give her up, she has given me a lot and I'd hate to put her down before her time.
Old 11-19-2012, 02:30 PM

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
There's a lot threads on this subject. Just my opinion, but you might want to start tearing down and accessing. You said it dumped oil and seized. Possible cracked block Before you buy a rebuild kit I would just find out if any main components are damaged. Good luck
Old 11-19-2012, 02:35 PM

Thank you ksti, good point I will check that right away. no point in fixing something that is unfix-able.
Old 11-21-2012, 10:59 PM

the chiltons manual is a joke don't waste ur time with that thing check out north carolina ttora (not tryin to rep another site im in no way affiliated)they have the factory service manuals posted just search ncttora fsm and it should pop. but if you can find one do the 3.4swap its a way better route if u can find one for cheap i recently picked up a 3.4 with 120k and all the goodies for $1000 bucks.
Old 11-21-2012, 11:11 PM

whoops! sorry just checked out that site i gave you. ive used it a bunch of times and now it says they've recieved a take down notice guess im searching for a new manual now.
Old 11-22-2012, 12:37 AM

3vze fsm

Here is one of the only FSMs left online for a 3vze. Its for a 93 but itd the same as an 89 http://personal.utulsa.edu/~nathan-b...fsm/index.html