YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > Newbie Tech Section
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-19-2012, 03:13 PM   #1
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
2toys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: santa cruz, ca
Posts: 104
Question can i run my fog lights without a relay

Ive got a set of fog lights that i took off my old truck and i lost the relay for them. i can get them to work without it but im just wondering if there's a safety issue here don't wanna burn down my ride.
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
2toys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 03:26 PM   #2
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
17toyotaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NW Oregon
Posts: 150
You could if you put a fuse in the wiring to pop so the whole truck doesn't go up in smoke, why not just buy a new relay or get one from a wrecking yard?
__________________
1980 Toyota 4x4 Build Thread
17toyotaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 03:42 PM   #3
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
2toys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: santa cruz, ca
Posts: 104
ya ill be running a fuse for sure. your right though i should just go buy a relay to be safe. just being cheap haha!
2toys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:59 PM   #4
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (1)
 
rokblok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: The Dirty South
Posts: 1,869
I recommend a relay and a fuse. Some fog lights can draw a lot of power depending on wattage. And that current doesn't need to be run everywhere(battery to switch, switch to lights). A relay running heavier(12-10 gauge) wire to the lights, with a 16-14 gauge trigger wire from the switch is the best way to do it. Fused off the battery source lead.

Unless you're running LEDs. I have a couple of Rigid LEDs on my bumper and they come with a harness.
__________________
84 x-tra cab, 4X4, 4" TG rear springs installed by WabFab, TG extended shackles, Bilstein shocks, 315-75R16 Toyo Open Country MT on 16x8 Mickey Thompson Classic III Black, 3RZ powerplant w/ LCE Performance Master rebuild kit, 6-shooter knuckles, Hy-steer, blah, blah, blah.... And a Softopper, and.....ARB front bumper, big brake upgrade up front, IFS rear, W56B trans, Marlin 1200lb clutch...

1988 4Runner 3.0(hole in the block), 5-spd

1971 FJ40 all stock...in storage...
rokblok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 08:20 PM   #5
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
2toys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: santa cruz, ca
Posts: 104
thanks for the input guys. it dawned on me that i have a relay sitting beside my house ive got a parts truck. so i pulled out the headlight relay off it and ripped out all the wire that im gonna need too. having a parts truck comes in sooo handy im always taking goodies off that thing. ill get some pics up tomarrow.
2toys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 09:58 AM   #6
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
2toys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: santa cruz, ca
Posts: 104
Thumbs up

E] Click the image to open in full size.[[new relay in empty location and new fuse in empty location.Click the image to open in full size.[headlight relay wired up. taken from a 92 4runner clipped out the plug also[QUOTE]Click the image to open in full size.[/empty locations i used to put my fog light relay a new fuse
2toys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:24 AM   #7
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
2toys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: santa cruz, ca
Posts: 104
lights all finished im actually glad i threw away that old relay this came out way cleaner than the way it was setup on my other truck. i like things to look stock may take more time but way worth it ill never have to worry about this wiring again.Click the image to open in full size.Click the image to open in full size.
2toys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:26 AM   #8
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
wyoming9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: I live in New Tripoli Pa out in the woods
Posts: 6,052
Red face

As long as you run a heavy enough switch and wire along with the correct fuse for the current draw you will be fine.

But you would need to run all new wire and a new switch.

The wire from stock to the relay just pulls in the relay coil and is not heavy enough to carry the full load. without getting warm.:wabbit2:
wyoming9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:57 AM   #9
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
2toys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: santa cruz, ca
Posts: 104
i used the wires from the stock headlamp setup on the 92 so it should be overkill for these lights. pretty heavy guage much heavier than the wiring that came with the lights.
the wire from relay to switch does not need to be a heavy guage cause the current (for the lights)does not flow through the switch. the switch only turns the heavy current of the lights on when grounded and off when ungrounded.
not sure if the fuse is heavy enough but the headlights run a 10amp for each headlight and these are smaller lights so i figured a 15amp should do it they work great and im not getting any heat and haven't blown the fuse.
2toys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 04:42 PM   #10
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
madcanvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 47
Revival....
Those look nice and clean! I had PIAA 1000s 80W there on my 2nd gen and loved them.
Followup question to relay: what if I swapped out OEM Factory fogs? Still need a relay and rewire?
__________________
2000 TOYOTA
4Runner Sport
madcanvis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 04:42 PM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Tags
16, fog, foglights, free, gage, happen, lead, light, lights, pics, powered, put, relay, relays, run, truck, vbulletin, wire, wiring, yotatech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:23 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.