Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Who has NOT broken bolts doing the t-stat?

Old 01-31-2011, 02:43 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Who has NOT broken bolts doing the t-stat?

I'm fairly sure I need a t-stat (in addition to a fan clutch- previous thread). When not on the highway, the engine runs hot but there is no heat. I'm sure I can replace the t-stat barring complication, but I know how often those t-stat bolts pop off especially up north in the salt. I'm a full-time student and my truck is a daily driver; I can't afford to have it down for long, but I also can't afford to blow a HG, crack a head, or something else if I don't address the problem. I don't have a helicoil or tap and die. Should I even try this job myself, or let a professional do it?
Old 01-31-2011, 02:48 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I broke my t-stat bolts (well 1 of them) but managed to get the end piece out and still have the threads somewhat intact so it still holds a bolt without helicoiling.

If i were you, i'd suggest spraying the bolts 2x a day for a week with your choice of penetrating oil. i.e. PBlaster, WD-40, or my personal favorite Kroil. Then try going at them. If they get tight and don't want to turn don't force them, that's how you break bolts.

Also remember, loosen the bolts a little and if they get tight go back the other way and so on and so on. Kinda like getting your rig free when you're wheeling.

That should work.

Best of luck!
Old 01-31-2011, 02:48 PM

Received 69 Likes on 48 Posts
wasn't there already one of these threads? Anyway, I haven't broken them, but many have.
Old 01-31-2011, 02:51 PM

Here is Kroil (actually its SiliKroil, just Kroil with silicone in it) in case you haven't heard of it. It is THE BEST penetrating oil i've ever used.

Something to keep in mind.

Old 01-31-2011, 02:53 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I've never broken any. I've changed 22re t-stats many times, on many different rigs.