Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

What should I expect

Old 12-02-2007, 09:24 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What should I expect

Newbie here and I have a few questions for you all. First off let me tell you a little about what is going on. I am selling my 2002 2500HD 4x4 because gas is about to kill me. I got rid of a 2002 Toyota double cab prerunner to buy it. Great move, right?. My wife has a 1997 camry and we are about to sell it and get here a new 08 Camry. I really want her to have the nice, safe car and these new ones look and drive awsome. So that leaves me to buy a vehicle for myself. I want something that is paid off that I can use as both a daily driver and a partial trail rig. I have been looking at both the 85-88 4runner and the 88-93 Pickup. I am planning on getting one with a 22re and a 5 speed. I do not have alot of experience with this engine and have only driven them a coupld of times.

I have done quite a bit of research lately and have seen alot of positives about the 22r. I would really like to find on that is on the way out so that I would have an excuse to bore it about .30 over, rework the head, performance cam, and a few other mods to really make it get up and go.

Just wondering what I can expect as far as power from the stock motor? Does this motor in stock form have any problems pulling up hills? What kind of gas milage are you alll getting? Any other good or bad points to consider?

I have always been a big fan of the V8, but gas prices just will not let me live that life any longer. I hope that oneday maybe I can buy an old Fox body 5.0 and build it up just to drive when I want that V8 rumble again. For now though, I want a project that will just give me something to wrench on but be reliable when I need it.

Thanks in advance,

Adam
Old 12-02-2007, 09:30 AM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
it wont drive like a v8 pickup, but it still drives fine with no issues getting up hills.