86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

turning brake rotors?

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2008, 12:33 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
turning brake rotors?

I'm doing the front brakes this weekend. The rotors are very slightly warped and it pulses when coming to a stop. I barely notice it, but its there.

First off should I bother with the rotors assuming they are in spec? Last time I did the brakes on my '89 pickup, the brakes squeaked like mad after changing the pads- my friend said at the time that it was because of the rotors weren't turned (machined). The FSM doesn't call for machine the rotors when changing the pads.

I've heard some people machine the rotors every second time the pads are changed. What do you do?
Old 10-03-2008, 12:57 PM

Also I plan on using cheap brake pads, because I'm a cheap student. I don't brake hard much as I don't drive fast and I usually just let the engine slow me down.

Is there a flaw in my reasoning for using cheap pads?
Old 10-03-2008, 01:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Matt16
I'm doing the front brakes this weekend. The rotors are very slightly warped and it pulses when coming to a stop. I barely notice it, but its there.

First off should I bother with the rotors assuming they are in spec? Last time I did the brakes on my '89 pickup, the brakes squeaked like mad after changing the pads- my friend said at the time that it was because of the rotors weren't turned (machined). The FSM doesn't call for machine the rotors when changing the pads.

I've heard some people machine the rotors every second time the pads are changed. What do you do?
Also I plan on using cheap brake pads, because I'm a cheap student. I don't brake hard much as I don't drive fast and I usually just let the engine slow me down.

Is there a flaw in my reasoning for using cheap pads?