Truck won't go into 4WD - YotaTech Forums
YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
Search


86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Truck won't go into 4WD

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2007, 12:35 PM   #1
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 101
Send a message via AIM to intense Send a message via MSN to intense Send a message via Yahoo to intense
Truck won't go into 4WD

Hey folks,
My 4Runner has recently stopped going into 4WD (hi or low). I've only used it a couple times to help pull my boat out of the water at the launch. But it's never given me problems before.

Now, when I slide the selector into 4WD nothing happens. There used to be a clunk and the 4WD light would illuminate on the dash.

I thought I saw a thread on this a couple months ago, but I can't find it now.

thanks for your help!
mike
intense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 12:38 PM   #2
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (2)
 
4Crawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 10,778
Assuming an automatic differential disconnect (ADD) front end, see below:
http://toyota.off-road.com/toyota/ar....jsp?id=399612
__________________
1985 Toyota 4Runner SR-5, 22REC engine, dual t-cases, 4.88 gears, dual ARBs, 33x10.50 BFGs or 35x12.50 MTRs
r.c.brown@ieee.org
TruckEditor@tlca.org
Project: 4Crawler
4Crawler OffRoad - YotaTech discount code
Gettin'Off 4WD Club
4Crawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 12:59 PM   #3
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 101
Send a message via AIM to intense Send a message via MSN to intense Send a message via Yahoo to intense
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4Crawler View Post
Assuming an automatic differential disconnect (ADD) front end, see below:
http://toyota.off-road.com/toyota/ar....jsp?id=399612
Thanks for the link

My truck is a 1990. I think they started using the ADD later, no?
intense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 03:06 PM   #4
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Elvota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 3,415
Do you have to manually lock your hubs? If yes... then no ADD.

What tranny/ transfer case do you have?

If you aren't sure, just tell us which engine and if you have a auto or 5spd.

We'll assume everything is stock in regards to the drivetrain and help you figure it out.
__________________
================

1990 4Runner | V6 3.4 | 5spd | 240 someoddthousand miles | SR5 | SAS | RLS | 35's | ARB | TJM | 217 to 1 | W8000


- four wheels | three sticks | two hands | one trail -



visit the sticki chronicles
Elvota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 05:53 AM   #5
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 101
Send a message via AIM to intense Send a message via MSN to intense Send a message via Yahoo to intense
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvota View Post
Do you have to manually lock your hubs? If yes... then no ADD.

What tranny/ transfer case do you have?

If you aren't sure, just tell us which engine and if you have a auto or 5spd.

We'll assume everything is stock in regards to the drivetrain and help you figure it out.
More details:
1990 4Runner with auto locking hubs, automagic

Also, it's a 3VZE

Everything in the drivetrain is stock....although, I did add an external piggy-back tranny cooler

Last edited by intense; 08-22-2007 at 06:49 AM. Reason: Correction
intense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 06:11 AM   #6
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (2)
 
4Crawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 10,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by intense View Post
Thanks for the link

My truck is a 1990. I think they started using the ADD later, no?
No, automatic hubs were only used up through '88/'89:
- http://www.4x4wire.com/toyota/tech/autohub/
__________________
1985 Toyota 4Runner SR-5, 22REC engine, dual t-cases, 4.88 gears, dual ARBs, 33x10.50 BFGs or 35x12.50 MTRs
r.c.brown@ieee.org
TruckEditor@tlca.org
Project: 4Crawler
4Crawler OffRoad - YotaTech discount code
Gettin'Off 4WD Club
4Crawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 06:48 AM   #7
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 101
Send a message via AIM to intense Send a message via MSN to intense Send a message via Yahoo to intense
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4Crawler View Post
No, automatic hubs were only used up through '88/'89:
- http://www.4x4wire.com/toyota/tech/autohub/
Oh...ok

That puts me back at square one..
intense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 09:44 AM   #8
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (2)
 
4Crawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 10,778
Follow the troubleshooting steps on the first web page I posted a link to. Likely a vacuum line has come off or has been connected wrong. Or lock the ADD actuator in permanently and slap on a set of manual hubs and you won't have to worry about it:
- http://www.4x4wire.com/toyota/tech/add/
__________________
1985 Toyota 4Runner SR-5, 22REC engine, dual t-cases, 4.88 gears, dual ARBs, 33x10.50 BFGs or 35x12.50 MTRs
r.c.brown@ieee.org
TruckEditor@tlca.org
Project: 4Crawler
4Crawler OffRoad - YotaTech discount code
Gettin'Off 4WD Club
4Crawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
08, 1985, 2004, 2005, 2006, 4runner, 4wd, fwd, l2, low, t100, toyota, truck, tundra, wont

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:50 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.