86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Torsion Bar/lift questions.

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2016, 06:28 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Torsion Bar/lift questions.

Before all the flame posts start coming. I'll start off by mentioning that I've already searched the forums and couldnt find anything relevant to my questions. I'm no ase mechanic and all my mechanical experience came from working on my old miata that I built.

I'll digress.. So I've been playing with my 94 sr5 t4r for several months now and I've finally got to a point where it needs tons of maintenance done.

Recently I was off roading and my cv joint took a ˟˟˟˟ on my and I barely made it home (I limped on for atleast 10 miles). Ive already ordered most of the necessary parts for the steering and such but I'm curious... How can I acquire new oem replacement torsion bars? The suspension is ˟˟˟˟ing horrible and I think the previous owner cranked the ˟˟˟˟ out of the t bars and it's almost torturous to drive offroad. I've found a few websites that offer a aftermarket replacement but they're re stiffer than oem. To my knowledge the stiffer the t bar the more harsh the offroad ride will be unless I have the optimum amount of weight counter act the added stiffness. I plan on leaving it ifs (yeah I know sas blah blah) but for what I intend on doing with this vehicle it's not necessary. And finding the additional parts needed like the axle and front drive shaft would make it a nightmare.

So far the parts I'm going to be replacing:
Tierods inner & outer and adjustment sleeve
Upper and lower ball joints
Idler arm and pitman arm
Steering stabilizer
Adding a set of fatbobs garage bj spacer and diff drop (will determine adding diff drop if necessary)
New cv joints.
Wheel bearings both sides.
New moog c225 Springs with 1 1/4 spacer from daystar.

Note all steering parts are moog.