Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Timing chain: checking for wear, and making sure it’s set up right?

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2012, 08:34 PM

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Timing chain: checking for wear, and making sure it’s set up right?

I blew the head gasket on my ’87 4Runner, and I’m trying to replace it myself… I’ve never done any engine work this involved before, and I’m probably in way over my head, but I’m nearly broke, and desperately need the truck, so I’m pressing ahead…

I got the head off, took it to a shop and had it checked and re-surfaced, bought the gasket kit, and I’m ready to start trying to put everything back together. I have two concerns about the timing chain, though:
  1. The guys that cleaned up the head for me noticed that there are a couple of grooves where the timing chain was cutting into the head itself. They said it might not be a big deal, but that I should check the chain, tensioners, etc. for excessive wear and any other problems. The problem is, I have absolutely no idea what to look for, and I’m having trouble finding any info on this. Can anyone give me any pointers on how to check for wear or problems (preferably without pulling any more of the engine apart, and without removing the chain completely?)
  2. When I removed the nut that holds the upper chain sprocket to the camshaft I did mark the chain and the sprocket, and also wired them together… But what I didn’t do was make sure to keep tension on the chain, to make sure that it didn’t slip on the lower gear… (Oops.) Can anyone give me detailed steps on how to get the chain set back up correctly once I have the head back on, again preferably without removing anything else? Obviously I don’t want to get it all back together and have the timing wrong, start it up and shatter all my valves or something…