Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Timing Belt, VC gasket, etc. for 3vze

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2010, 12:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Timing Belt, VC gasket, etc. for 3vze

Hi all,

in a couple weeks a will be replacing a number of parts in my 94 dlx extracab with a 3.0 and 209,xxx miles. Most of the stuff will be ordered over the next week from the interweb, so I thought I would post my plans here to see if I have thought of everything necessary. Also, if anyone has input on part brands, I would love to here it.

As an overview, I intend to replace the valve cover gaskets, the timing belt, and the radiator. I may need to replace the main seals, as well. Basically, I needed to do the VC gaskets and the timing belt, but if I'm going to deal with the BS involved in both tasks, I thought I should replace a few other things as well.

Also, I've never done this stuff before, so there's that-will have a mech friend for advice, occasional oversight.

So, I have on my shopping list:

a)Timing belt, idler bearing, tensioner, water pump, T-stat (maybe housing?)
b)VC gaskets, RTV, PCV valve, grommet, and vent hose, rear cam seals, plenum gasket,
c)radiator and hoses

Am I missing anything (tools are accounted for already)?

For background on gaskets and seals, I think my truck runs pretty well. It's quiet, smooth, gets decent mpg (for a 3.0) and has handled some pretty epic trips in scorching weather. However, it leaks oil like a stuck, oil-filled pig. The bulk of recent leaking likes to collect along the bottom-front of the transmission. At the very least, this leak is coming from the VC gasket, but mechanics I've talked with say that the rear main is probably an issue. The oil pan seal seems fine.

Because there is no wiggle room anywhere on this truck, am I going to have to pull the engine to get at the rear main?

Finally, am I totally negligent for ignoring valve adjustment?