86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

timing belt tensioner questions?

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2010, 08:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
timing belt tensioner questions?

i'm new to toyotas but i have been using this forum to learn about my new truck. its a 92 sr5. anyway the motor was rebuilt about 30,000 miles ago before i owned the truck so i'm not sure what parts were replaced during the rebuild.
The problem i have is after the truck has warmed up to normal operating temp, and driven around the block a few times i can start to hear a nasty rattle when i give it some gas. it doesn't matter weather i'm in drive, park, neutral. the rattle seems to go away as soon as the engine stops accelerating or revving up. i've gone over it with a stethascope but can't really isolate exactly where its coming from, but generally its coming from somewhere around the power steering or AC compressor. a mechanic friend thinks that it might have something to do with the timing belt tensioner which is close to that area as well, but he doesn't really know toyotas that well.
Does anyone have a past experience that is similar or any ideas? i read a couple threads on engine noises that turned out to be a bad rod bearing.
I don't think it is detonation, i checked my timing and actually needed to advance it a couple degrees to get it where my book says it should be. if it were a rod bearing shouldn't i have been able to really hear it on the oil pan?
Is my timing belt tensioner hydraulic or a spring type? What is the advantage of a hydraulic tensioner vs the spring type? If my tensioner has failed what kind of symptoms should i expect?

thanks guys.
Old 04-01-2010, 11:21 PM
Donny, you're out of your element
Staff

Received 54 Likes on 34 Posts
92 can be either style, depending on what the production date is (assuming no one has ever changed the engine)