Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx
Old 02-09-2016, 10:50 AM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Electrical Guides
Print Wikipost

time for a new battery, which one to get?

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2010, 09:01 AM
Sponsor

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
time for a new battery, which one to get?

So the J hook of the battery tie down broke yesterday causing the battery to slide into the power steering pullly (this is the 2nd time this has happened to me since owning a toyota)

i've ran Optima Red tops in the past, and they kept dying on me. so i'm not supper impressed with them. but i have a couple buddy's who have said nothing but good things about them.

i've been running a DieHard Platinum in the big runner for several years and its been a kickass battery. i've heard they are Odyssey batterys that have been rebranded... but at 189 + tax its a bit $$

I've ran Interstate battery's in the past and they were very good as well.

however since i'm in the process of buying a house, and i'm broke, i've thought about getting just a cheapo Autozone Duralast battery.

what is everyone else running? what battery would you get?
Old 08-16-2010, 09:06 AM
Co-Founder/Administrator
Staff

Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
I am going with the re-branded Odyssey soon to replace my dead Optima.
Never again will I buy an Optima.

I hear the Plats are the way to go.
Mine will be to replace my 2nd battery in my dual setup.
Old 08-16-2010, 09:12 AM
Fossilized
Staff

Received 448 Likes on 293 Posts
In April I had to replace batteries in 3 out of 4 of my cars/trucks. Due to the budget I ended up getting the Duralast Gold for all three...
Put the biggest I could fit in the '81, no issues
I figured that it was kind of like dealing with Les Schwab on tires, there is an Autozone all over the PNW so if I am ever having problems with the battery I should be able to find one under the warranty