YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2006, 10:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
anniesball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nevada City, CA
Posts: 105
Throttle position sensor installation/setup

I'm a fairly good mechanic. I have a 94' 4Runner V6 that I need to replace the throttle position sensor.

Is there a procedure for setting this up? I have a multimeter.
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
anniesball is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 11:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
runethechamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 586
Check out this one. Should have all you need.

http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTricks/TPS/index.shtml
__________________
94 4runner SR5, V6 3VZE, 5 speed
Completely rebuilt engine with Toyota parts at 147k miles
Downey Coils, Aisin manual hubs, Cowl Louver mod, Hella 500 fog lights
Yeah, I know, not many cool mods here
runethechamp is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 12:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Hello All,

First: Are you sure you need to replace the TPS, rather than adjust it? What are your symptoms?
Second: If you follow the adjustment procedure listed in the previous reply, there is a critical step missing (for the 3VZ-E motor). It took me a while to puzzle it out, and then I was able to confirm my guess at the following page, which is part of a whole Toy Service manual (invaluable resource: bookmark it):

http://personal.utulsa.edu/~nathan-b...93throttle.pdf

This describes in detail the adjustment procedure including the crucial missing step, which is applying vacuum to the "Throttle Opener". if you don't have a vacuum pump (I don't) you can manually disengage the opener with a wire-tie carefully positioned. Also, it is WAY EASIER to do this procedure with the throttle body off the engine. It's pretty easy to take the throttle body off, and you don't have to drain the radiator at all. (you may lose a few ounces of coolant, but that's all.) Tip: unbolt the throttle body before removing the coolant hoses, and pull it out and up a few inches; this makes it WAY easier to access the pinch-clamps for the coolant hoses, especially the one that's underneath.

I'm happy to elaborate further on my recent TPS adjustment and other related issues.

Crick
cricket is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 12:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
runethechamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 586
So I was wondering, how does applying vacuum to the hose affect the adjustment?
__________________
94 4runner SR5, V6 3VZE, 5 speed
Completely rebuilt engine with Toyota parts at 147k miles
Downey Coils, Aisin manual hubs, Cowl Louver mod, Hella 500 fog lights
Yeah, I know, not many cool mods here
runethechamp is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 12:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 1,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by runethechamp
So I was wondering, how does applying vacuum to the hose affect the adjustment?
Me too?
__________________
'91 4Runner SR5 V6 4X4 Auto, A/C, 4.56, 31x10.5x15 Nokian Vatiiva Tires, Taurus fan (removed)
'90 4Runner SR5 V6 4X4 Auto, A/C, 4.56
V6 power with V8 fuel mileage
I've used Fram oil filters and dino oil in all my stuff for 30 years and never had oil related trouble
Marc is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 02:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
69 1/2 Six PAck Bee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario, California
Posts: 47
What if the engine does not have a "throttle opener" like on my '90 3VZE?
69 1/2 Six PAck Bee is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 02:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
anniesball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nevada City, CA
Posts: 105
To replace the TPS or not?

The reason I asked the question is because I took my truck into the shop to have them investigate why it was seemingly gutless. The throttle itself felt stiff and wierd also.

I just recently purchased this truck, so I had no experience to go by.

My throttle body linkage on the TPS side was hitting the TPS connector when it swung around attempting full throttle. I found out that someone who worked on the truck prior installed the TPS 180 deg out. This meant that I could only get 1/2 throttle max. No wonder my truck seemed gutless.

With that said, that is why I needed the info on adjustment.
anniesball is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 02:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 47
I also have a tip

I also have a tip to make the TPS a little easier to adjust.

I tried and tried with the alligator clips, but could'nt get them to stay or stop twisting and falling off, even with the vacuum hose trick. So when I was at the local pull your part, I got the brilliant idea to cut the pigtail and six inches + of wire off of a junker 3.0 throttle body. Now all I have to do to adjust it is, hook-up the pigtail and connect the alligator clips to the desired wires. This way I can adjust it on or off the vehicle.
RRIND is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 08:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 1,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRIND
I also have a tip to make the TPS a little easier to adjust.

I tried and tried with the alligator clips, but could'nt get them to stay or stop twisting and falling off, even with the vacuum hose trick. So when I was at the local pull your part, I got the brilliant idea to cut the pigtail and six inches + of wire off of a junker 3.0 throttle body. Now all I have to do to adjust it is, hook-up the pigtail and connect the alligator clips to the desired wires. This way I can adjust it on or off the vehicle.
that's a great idea.
__________________
'91 4Runner SR5 V6 4X4 Auto, A/C, 4.56, 31x10.5x15 Nokian Vatiiva Tires, Taurus fan (removed)
'90 4Runner SR5 V6 4X4 Auto, A/C, 4.56
V6 power with V8 fuel mileage
I've used Fram oil filters and dino oil in all my stuff for 30 years and never had oil related trouble
Marc is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 02:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Hi All,

The "throttle opener" as best I can tell keeps the throttle slightly open when the engine is NOT running. I think the idea is that for easier starting, the throttle is already cracked so you don't have to touch the pedal. As soon as the motor is running, the vacuum from the manifold "deactivates" the opener, so the throttle closes all the way. For making the TPS adjustment, the motor is not running, so the throttle is held part-way open, which would mess with your TPS adjustment, which should start with a fully-closed throttle position. Does that make sense?

If you don't have an opener, then it's not an issue for the TPS adjust. Sounds like the older motors don't have one.

Brilliant idea about using an old connector for adjustment. Wish I'd thought of that. Could probably do it on the truck that way...er no, because its really hard to get to the throttle screw and stop-plate.

Crick
cricket is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 02:40 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
runethechamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 586
That explanation makes sense. Thanks.
__________________
94 4runner SR5, V6 3VZE, 5 speed
Completely rebuilt engine with Toyota parts at 147k miles
Downey Coils, Aisin manual hubs, Cowl Louver mod, Hella 500 fog lights
Yeah, I know, not many cool mods here
runethechamp is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 12:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 47
No Problem

I did'nt have a problem getting the feeler gauge in between the stop screw and stop plate. The feeler gauge set I have is 3/8" wide and is bent to 90 degrees on the end, so it fit right in.

I guess there would be a problem if I had to adjust the stop screw though, I would probably have to take the TB off to do that.

Never had to adjust any of the other stuff on the TB, just the TPS.
RRIND is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 10:42 AM   #13 (permalink)
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Elvota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 3,420
I think I saw this tip on the 4crawler site...

If you do take the TB off to adjust, replace the two adjusting screws with some bolts that have a small allen head while it's out of the truck. Next time you'll have a chance of adjusting the TB while it is still in the truck with an allen wrench and not a screwdriver.

By the way, I agree that the pigtail idea is a great one. I'll have to try that.
Elvota is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 12:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 47
Screws

I replaced the TPS screws with allen heads long ago, I had a crap load of them from who knows where, so everytime I took something off of my engine that had a Phillips head screw, I'd replace it with an Allen head screw. The screw that cricket was talking about is the throttle stop screw and the stop lever, it allows the throttle plate to fully close.
RRIND is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 10:22 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
runethechamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 586
Finally did my TPS adjustment over the weekend, and also got the confirmation of how the whole vacuum thing works. Basically, the spot where the feeler gauge is supposed to be inserted has a gap with no throttle and no vacuum. The check at 0 opening is therefore impossible to do without applying vacuum. If you don't have a pump, it actually works to attach a hose and just suck on it. It doesn't take that much to close the gap.

As far as I could see, with the 0.5 mm spacing, the vacuum just had to close a much smaller gap, and at the 0.8 mm spacing, the vacuum did nothing.

Before I did the TPS adjustment, I didn't notice any change in timing when I jumped the connectors at the check box, and I adjusted everything by ear since I couldn't get to base timing. The timing light would then show something like 20 degrees BDTC. After the TPS adjustment, I got to base timing, and it was at 8 degrees BDTC with the connectors jumped. If I disconnected the connectors, it ended up at 5 degrees BDTC.

Now I wish I would have taken pictures to make a good write-up of this.
__________________
94 4runner SR5, V6 3VZE, 5 speed
Completely rebuilt engine with Toyota parts at 147k miles
Downey Coils, Aisin manual hubs, Cowl Louver mod, Hella 500 fog lights
Yeah, I know, not many cool mods here
runethechamp is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2006, 10:22 AM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Tags
2002, 3vze, 4runner, 87, 94, adjust, adjusting, opener, position, replace, runner, sensor, setting, throttle, toyota, tps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throttle position sensor jhksclemm The Classifieds GraveYard 2 03-22-2007 05:28 PM
Throttle Position Sensor ramrugby09 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 7 04-06-2006 12:12 PM
Throttle position sensor help 1987 street toy 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 7 12-16-2004 06:12 PM
Throttle Position Sensor lerence Maintenance & Repair Archives 6 08-21-2004 11:00 PM
Throttle Position Sensor donc 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 0 05-16-2003 06:38 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:12 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2