Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Thinking of a 2nd Gen project

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2009, 08:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thinking of a 2nd Gen project

Hey all, I'm new to the 2nd Gen but I've had my 3rd Gen for about a year and a half now and love it. Bought it with a dead engine and had a local shop swap a good 3.4 in it while I was living in an apartment in Louisville, KY for training.

Here's the deal: While yard saling this weekend I happened to notice a gold 2nd Gen sitting next to a shed, seemed to be in good shape and the back end wasn't sagging and then I noticed it had no plates on it. I figured, dead engine, so as the wife is hopping out to browse I told her to ask if it was for sale. After playing with the old man's cat she came back and said that the 4Runner was his son's and it indeed has a dead engine but they're not sure if they're going to sell or not. He mentioned that they probably would sell but wasn't positive yet, so we drove off. That 4Runner is only about a mile if that from my house and from the driveway looked pretty clean.

I've been reading up on 3.4 swaps but I've never personally done any engine swap. I've been around one for an extra set of hands but it was on a 66 Fairlane so wiring was minimal and it was a simple 289 swap. Is this something you'd recommend having a pro or an experienced person do? I'm mechanically inclined, I do as much work to my rig as possible but it's not a direct swap so I'm nervous to be honest. Plus, I don't have a garage, engine stand, cherry picker do help out.

This would be a project for sure and I don't mind letting it sit a little while but I'd love to either pay somebody locally that will let me help out or have some locals come out and school me on this.